cassieresendez

Gangnam Style

If you were wondering about my header and what Gangnam style was you’re about to be enlightened. There’s a popular Korean band called PSY I was introduced to a little while ago that was described as being the Korean version of LMFAO. It is highly entertaining and has become the theme music for this trip I think.

I don’t understand it at all besides the basic interpretation I was given. The Korean slang “Gangnam Style” refers to a luxurious lifestyle, associated with Gangnam district, an affluent and trendy area of Seoul, South Korea. From what I understand the lead singer wants “the perfect girlfriend who knows when to be refined and when to get wild” but it is a lost cause because he doesn’t fit the profile (like the guy in yellow). 

And I have to say, the music video is a refreshing change from the typical American music videos we produce. He wrote the song, choreographed that dance to go with it, and directed the music video. Gotta appreciate talent and skills.

So I know my life living in South Korea probably won’t be as crazy as the music video. But it’s fun to imagine. Koreans are crazy. If you need further proof, just look up “Korean Horse Riding Ace Power.” And yes, it’s a real exercise machine they developed, not a spoof.

This entry was published on August 17, 2012 at 9:23 am. It’s filed under Gangnam Style and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Gangnam Style

  1. Cass, I think that this is a great idea :) I love the idea that we can get a glimpse into your life in Korea, and I think you will be so happy to have this later. :) I’m going to miss you but I’m so excited for you to be able to have this grand adventure! <3

Leave a Reply

