cassieresendez

An outing of delicious foods

I had a lot of fun wandering around Downtown Sacramento with one of my friends Kimi for a couple hours. It so happened that the farmers market was going on right around the corner, and we had an hour to kill before the restaurant we were going to for lunch opened. Now, if you don’t know me, I am a self professed fruitaholic. I love it. Sweet, juicy, dripping down your arm peaches. Hell yes. I’ll take some regular, white, and throw in some nectarines.

I wish I had had more cash on me to buy some fresh veggies as well. It is one of the things I am going to miss most about living in California. With a long growing cycle I can pretty much get fresh produce all year round, and a good portion ripened before it’s picked, so the taste and quality are amazing. Not so much in South Korea, from what I remember about my last visit. They have to import a lot of the produce I am accustomed to getting on a whim.

Korean cuisine is largely based upon rice, vegetables, and meats and are noted for the number of side dishes (banchan) that accompany the meal. Commonly used vegetables include Korean radish, Napa cabbage, cucumber, potato, sweet potato, spinach, bean sprouts, scallions, garlic, chili peppers, seaweed, zucchini, mushrooms and lotus root. Several types of wild greens, known collectively as chwinamul (such as Aster scaber), are a popular dish, and other wild vegetables such as bracken fern shoots (gosari) orKorean bellflower root (doraji) are also harvested and eaten in season. Medicinal herbs, such as ginseng, reishi, wolfberry, Codonopsis pilosula, and Angelica sinensis, are often used as ingredients in cooking, as in samgyetang.

As for fruits, I will have to deal with imported fruit from the commissary and markets, and see what the locals have. Some of those will be new to me: jujube, asian pears, apples, and kumquats , and hallabong (a relatively expensive but very tasty citrus fruit grown primarily on Jeju Island).

Korean foods can be largely categorized into groups of main staple foods, subsidiary dishes, and desserts. The main dishes are made from grains such as bap (a bowl of rice), juk (porridge), and guksu (noodles). Additionally many Korean banchan rely on fermentation for flavor and preservation, resulting in a tangy, salty, and spicy taste. Not my favorite, but we’ll see how it goes. There’s always the commissary and other cultural restaurants around. John has been talking about this place he wants to take me that is Turkish food.

Broadacre Coffee

After hitting up the farmers market we came across this little cafe on 10th I’ve never seen before. The inlaid tile floor sign boasted books as well, though there were none to be seen. They must have been hidden away. Either way, I really enjoyed the place.It was small, with a clean and minimalistic style. This was further evidenced by the countertop and bar area. It’s all streamlined and about the coffee and interaction with the customer. Big open area so you can see what’s going on and talk freely. And finally, when you go to pay, your card gets processed by a Square in an iPad. The local art hanging on the walls were technical sketches done on draft paper and hung from the ceiling with fishing wire and small clips so the whole piece had a little more dimension and character to it as it caught a draft. It was a very casual look that matched the atmosphere of the coffee shop as well.

As we approached the counter we were greeted and I had a short conversation about the coffee before going with their recommendation. Our attention was also caught on this bacon maple doughnut. I’ve heard of them, but never had one. So of course we had to get it to try.  Their coffee was good, very smooth and fresh. But I was a little disappointed with the body. Since it was a pour over I expected a little more depth to it. My friend got one of their specialty iced coffees, a mint julep. Essentially shaken coffee with honey and mint garnished with a sprig of mint. Presentation wise, it was awesome.

When I got home I was curious about the place, since I had never seen it before. So I went online to see if they had a website, since they were pretty tech savvy and young, and of course they did. A very nice one that ties into their whole atmosphere. It made me love the place even more.

So, next time you’re in the area, Broadacre Coffee. Pretty Awesome. I love that Sacramento is becoming a coffee hub. I’m just sad I am finding it so late, and leaving right in the middle of the excitement. Though luckily I stumbled into it myself with Old Soul Co. and have been able to grow and learn and be a part of it. Broadacre was just what we needed to pass the last 20 minutes before lunch, which was itself very tasty.

Located on K st. and sandwiched between the Dive Bar and District 30, Pizza Rock is sure to not disappoint. They use fresh organic local ingredients to create savory dessert pizzas and excellent menu items. Definitely someplace to check out if you are a foodie, or if you are just looking for a cool new place to meet up with friends. I usually head over to Pizza Rock on the weekends for brunch (not an obvious choice I know, but it is amazing) so going for lunch was new for me. What I love about this place is that they put their own twist on classics such as focaccia bread and pizza in a very successful way. We got the following items to split:

  • Greek Foccancini – Grilled Eggplant, Grilled Summer Squash, Kalamata Olives, Roasted Red Pepper, Feta and Mozzarella Cheeses, Artichoke Hearts, Oregano, EVOO and a Lemon Wedge. I wish they would have remembered to substitute black olives for the kalamata though. They made the sandwich just a little too salty. Very good though.
  • Rosemary & Sea Salt Fries. So delicious. They don’t overdo it with the rosemary.
  • Fresh Focaccia Bread (comes drizzled with honey, onion and sea salt) with this spicy dip.
  • Tripple Berry Pizza – Mozzarella, Mascarpone, Strawberries, Blue Berries, Raspberries, Honey, Powdered Sugar. I wish there were more berries on top, but we are coming into the end of the season. Later that night I sliced up one of my peaches from farmers market and placed them on the leftovers with more fresh honey. It was so good and added that extra bit needed. 
This entry was published on September 7, 2012 at 11:27 pm and is filed under Coffee, Food. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

